COUNTY OF LOS ANGELES COMMISSION ON ALCOHOL AND OTHER DRUGS

Meeting Minute Summary February 12, 2025

COMMISSIONERS PRESENT: Commissioners Tony Bell, Rebecca Birotte, Bruce Boardman, Amanda Cowan, Deena Duncan, Christina Gonzales, Jack Hadjinian, Tonya McKenzie, Juan Navarro, Ana Maria Quintana, Charles Robbins, Avia Rosen, Johng Ho Song and Jerry Velasco

COMMISSIONERS REQUESTING EXCUSED ABSENCES: Commissioners Jozef Essavi, Alicia Garoupa, Ruben Rodriguez, Ben Root, Jr., Howard Winkler, and G. Lola Worthington

UNEXCUSED ABSENCES: N/A

GUEST REGISTER: Dr. Gary Tsai

MATERIALS DISTRIBUTED: Commission on Alcohol and Other Drugs February 12, 2025 Agenda; Commission on Alcohol and Other Drugs December 11, 2024 Meeting Minutes – Draft; Handout – Nominating Committee Report 2025

	Topic	Discussion/Finding
1.	Call to Order & Introduction of Commissioners and Guests	Chair Tony Bell, County of Los Angeles, the Commission on Alcohol and Other Drugs convened the meeting at 12:35 P.M. Chair Tony Bell asked for self-introductions from all Commissioners and guests.
		Quorum present.
2.	Public Comments	No public comment.
3.	Action on AB2449 and Excuse Absence	Commissioners Jozef Essavi, Alicia Garoupa, Ruben Rodriguez, Ben Root, Jr., Howard Winkler, and G. Lola Worthington have asked to be excused from the February 12, 2025 meeting.
		Commissioners Rebecca Birotte, Deena Duncan, Christina Gonzales and Ana Maria Quintana are appearing remotely for today's meeting by "just cause" in accordance with AB 2449.
		Chair Tony Bell entertained a motion which was moved to approve by Commissioner Charles Robbins and seconded by Commissioner Jerry Velasco.
		Motion was unanimously carried.

	Topic	Discussion/Finding
4.	Action on Meeting Minutes for February 12, 2025 meeting	Chair Tony Bell entertained a motion which was moved to approve by Commissioner Tonya McKenzie and seconded by Commissioner Bruce Boardman. Motion was unanimously carried.
5.	Action on 2025 Nominations	The 2025 Nomination Slate is as follows: Nominee for Chair: Tonya McKenzie Nominee for 1st Vice Chair: Jack Hadjinian Nominee for Reporting Secretary: Amanda Cowan Nominee for Reporting Secretary: Amanda Cowan Nominee for At Large Seat 1: Christina Gonzales Nominee for At Large Seat 2: Deena Duncan Chair Tony Bell entertained a motion which was moved to approve by Commissioner Charles Robbins and seconded by Commissioner Jerry Velasco. Motion was unanimously carried. Newly elected Chair Tonya McKenzie shared that she's looking forward to making things happen and being more visible to the communities. She asked the Commission what they would like to see this coming year. Commissioner Jack Hadjinian suggested to better promote the Commission to the community SAPC will work with the Commission to draft a request to the Chief Executive Office for the requested information in regards to Los Angeles County opioid abatement settlement dollars and the process for funding allocations. Commissioner Amanda Cowan inquired about SAPC's position on provider protocols when there's an emergency – emergency planning. Commissioner Jerry Velasco expressed that the Commission needs to outreach with the community. Chair Tonya McKenzie expressed that she would like the Education and Prevention Committee to find a high school, Superintendent, and community organization to reach to them and ask what's going on at schools, need resources, and to find the gap between community and
6.	Speaker: Dr. Tsai, Bureau Director for Substance Abuse Prevention and Control (SAPC): Updates on Behavioral Health Administration Integration and Behavioral Health	 available resources. Dr. Gary Tsai, Bureau Director for SAPC provided the following updates from the Behavioral Health Administration Integration, Behavioral Health Commission, Behavioral Health Services Act: Behavioral Health Administrative Integration report expected to be released at the end of the month There are eleven behavioral health administrative components and three have been completed As of January 1, 2025, the Mental Health Commission converted to the Behavioral Health Commission and adopted its bylaws Behavioral Health Commission members consists of the following:

Topic	Discussion/Finding
Commission	 19-member Commission; Six members are Substance Used Disorder (SUD) representatives Six members are mental health representatives Six are at-large members with combination of mental health and/or SUD One representative from the Board Office Commissioner McKenzie asked Dr. Tsai what he would like to see our Commission and the Behavioral Health Commission do together and his vision with both Commissions The Commission is looking forward to working collaboratively with SAPC and support SAPC with future ideas and plans.
7. Comments from Commissioners on Items of Interest	Commissioner Tony Bell shared that this is Jessie's last meeting with the Commission and introduced Mayra Colunga and Diana Carranza as the Commission Liaisons. Jessie to send out the bylaws to the Commissioners
8. Adjournment	Meeting was adjourned at 1:53 P.M.

Next meeting date:

March 12, 2025, at 12:30 p.m.

Kenneth Hahn Hall of Administration

500 W. Temple Avenue, Sybil Brand Commission Room, Suite 372

Los Angeles, California 90012